Ao no Exorcist 05

This episode wasn’t the best but seeing more of the other students played a huge part in the enjoyment factor.  It was fun seeing the other teachers and the classes they teach. Poor Shiemi, struggling with the physical activities (I’ve grown very fond of her). The level of detail in Ao no Exorcist’s setting is really making this show stand out. It’s a well thought out world that easily pulls you in.


Rin’s dream at the beginning is especially hilarious. Dude, he looks like a bishounen in his dream, it’s hilarious hahaha. This show’s humor isn’t particularly outstanding but it’s still capable of getting laughs out of you.

LOOK AT THAT SWAG MOTHERFUCKER.

Bon a.k.a Some Dude With Issues Or Something. This episode is about him btw.

This episode was an introduction to Bon, who despite his unruly appearance– is a genius. Bon has never liked Rin from the get-go though, and proceeds to harass him and Shiemi. Rin being the awkward teenage boy that he is, says he and Shiemi aren’t dating and aren’t they friends either. See, I had to write that because that’s such a shoujo manga cliche. /sighs

LOL RIN NO, SHE LIKES YOUR BROTHER AND HE PMSES LIKE HE HAS A VAGINA SRY2SAY. Damn these Rin Shiemi moments are cute.

Bon shares the same goal as Rin– to defeat Satan. His family’s temple was destroyed by the Walpurgis  Blue Night which I suspect had something with Rin and Yukio’s birth. The Blue Night massacred all these powerful exorcists just like in that movie The Exorcist but like, a thousand times worse because these exorcists start bleeding all over the place and get barbecued in blue flames. YEAH. Naturally, the townspeople will deem that the temple is pretty effed up.

Bon’s father became high priest, however people started avoiding him believing he was cursed. Unable to stand his father’s cowardly behavior, Bon decides to defeat Satan because that will obviously make these people shut the fuck up.

Sensei Buttchin leaves the premises after a phonecall, and Bon uses this as an opportunity to prove his determination by approaching one of those giant ass frogs. He becomes psychologically unstable after the resident bitch (a.k.a Izumo) laughs at his goal and ends up putting himself in danger.

DA BITCH.

OUR VALIANT HERO.

DA PRINCESS.

Thanks to that though, Rin proves he’s the main character and saves him (and fitting cool dramatic music plays in the background).

Thus, Bon becomes part of Rin’s harem an unlikely ally.

B-B-BAKA RIN! IT’S NOT LIKE I LIKE YOU OR ANYTHING!

Sure my summary is pretty crappy but that doesn’t mean I didn’t like the episode, it was entertaining. I like the roles the parents in AoE have in the characters’ motivations and their development. I know some people are writing this off as another shounen but there’s something in AoE that makes me want to see more.

2 thoughts on “Ao no Exorcist 05

  1. tomphile

    Does anyone else get the feeling that this anime’s plot will suffer from pointless meandering from this point on? That’s the basic feeling I get when I watch this anime. After the rather story-driven beginning episodes, I was all pumped up to see the show up the ante… only to be presented with a typical school-training arc that’s sure to entertain(sure)

    Reply
    1. Mira Post author

      I kind of know what you mean. I think the school setting is of Ao no Exorcist’s biggest let down for me, the first two episodes made me think I’d be watching something set in the city but I ended up in some Harry Potter-esque school. Sure it’s funny but I’d hate to think of all the potential wasted. However the manga is only 23 chapters long and there’s a long way to go. I’d rather have the people behind the anime play around with it.

      Reply

Leave a comment