First Impressions: Hidan no Aria

Hidan no Aria isn’t one of those shows I actively seek out, I watched it out of pure curiosity and boredom. Sadly, this isn’t one of those ‘hidden gems’ this season. No, not by a long shot. It’s hard to find good things to say about Hidan no Aria, mainly because it doesn’t really try to do anything remarkably new.

I’m a bit of a jaded anime viewer, there was a time I completely stopped watching anime and didn’t want anything to do with it. Hidan no Aria reminds me there was a reason this happened. Almost everything in the first four episodes were things I’ve seen before and were done so much better. None of these characters are sympathetic enough and the ‘action’ so far is pretty lame. It fails to provoke any kind of emotion, the jokes aren’t funny and character designs are pretty much copy and paste.

Like many male protagonists before him, Kinji’s normal reaction to physical contact with a girl is GET OFF ME WOMAN! It’s very likely he has a natural aversion to women or prefers delicious  flat chests.

I hate sounding so harsh on Hidan on Aria, the story itself has a lot of potential. It’s nothing revolutionary but if the people behind it knew what to do with source material then I would’ve enjoyed it much more.

The first three episodes were a chore to go through. Hoping there was still a chance for to it to make it’s strong points shine, I went on and watched another episode. And would you look at that, episode 4 reveals a plot twist that didn’t incite anything from me aside from an ‘Oh’. God, listening to the villain’s motive behind the attacks made me groan. Riko better not be the main villain of this show because that’ll pretty much bore me out of my mind.


SUMMARY OF THE WHOLE EPISODE’S PLOT TWIST.

I wouldn’t say Hidan no Aria is a bad show, but from what I’ve seen it isn’t aiming to be anything more than mediocre.

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: Hidan no Aria

  1. Psycho

    My expectation of Hidan no Aria is, this anime would similar with Black Lagoon. But all my hope is wrong. After watching lolwut action in first episode, immediately I dropped this. Then sometime I lurk on animesuki thread, some of the comment still complaint about that lolwut.

    Reply
    1. Mira Post author

      Yeah, it was very disappointing. I heard the Butei action was what set it apart but the action itself is very poor. It’s pretty shocking how popular it seems, but maybe it’s the moe/fanservice factor hahaha!

      Reply

Leave a comment