[C]: The Money of Soul and Possibility Control 04

[C] starts proving that there was a reason people were drawn to it in the first place. This episode was ridiculously good. The opening was intense. The juxtaposition between the quiet and calm world of reality to the chaotic and violent world of the financial district was brilliant. Three episodes back I found the use of CG in certain places obtrusive. Consider that sentiment gone in episode 4.

Masakaki explained that these people who enter the Financial District had their futures up for collateral. This struck me as a vague and dangerous deal. The professor’s bankruptcy illustrates how bad the circumstances can be. He loses his three children as though they’ve been wiped out of existence and now only he and Kimimaro can remember them.

[C] introduces the moral dilemma of these Deals. While it may be easy to win, winning without  rendering your opponent bankrupt is the real challenge. Mikuni put it the best way, these deals aren’t just about winning. It’s about making a profit, gaining and losing with as minimal damage possible. Kimimaro didn’t have a motive to keep him fighting and this may be the motive he needs, to fight without causing other people misery while still making a profit. Sound familiar? Yeah, I was thinking he and Rin could have a lot to talk about.

I find [C] visually pleasing. This episode had angles that  made you tilt your head at times. It reminds me of the same techniques Kenji Nakamura used in Mononoke, along with the frame skips one that look  like video glitches. There’s also the prominent use of shadows which I liked too. The battles are spectacular, I was smiling while watching the two fights that took place in this episode. There was a lot of creative thought put into the abilities these characters use.

Also, lets talk about how awesome Msyu is. I keep seeing Asuka in her, the fact that her color scheme is pretty much red doesn’t help. Unlike Asuka who was kind of a bitch, I see Msyu more as an asset who wants to push Kimimaro and grow a backbone. When she isn’t screaming at him, she’s working hard to protect him even if it means she has to sacrifice herself. I ship these two eventhough they surpass the bounds of logic.

DAT ROTATION.

Mikuni is wicked. He’s crazy strong. Judging by the OP, I have no idea how Kimimaro intends to face off with this guy.  From here I’m going to so some speculation, Mikuni and Kimimaro are hinted to have a  lot of similarities and physically, Mikuni looks like an older and better groomed Kimimaro. I’ve come upon this ridiculous theory that Mikuni is either Kimimaro’s dad who went bankrupt and had his existence replaced by someone else and had to recreate a new identity to enter the Financial District again or Mikuni is Kimimaro’s future self and ended up making some mindfuck paradox.

I may be looking waaaaayy too deep into this but I couldn’t help myself seeing as these two theories don’t sound plausible at all, but surely there’s much more to Mikuni than just being the ultra strong guy who Kimimaro has to fight as the *~final boss~*, he just has to be. Next week’s episode can’t come soon enough!

6 thoughts on “[C]: The Money of Soul and Possibility Control 04

  1. Sapphire Pyro

    “I’ve come upon this ridiculous theory that Mikuni is either Kimimaro’s dad who went bankrupt and had his existence replaced by someone else and had to recreate a new identity to enter the Financial District again or Mikuni is Kimimaro’s future self and ended up making some mindfuck paradox.”
    = The idea of Mikuni actually being Kimimaro’s dad is too cliche but… I if you put it that way, that would be interesting xD

    Reply
    1. Mira Post author

      Yeah, I think if that’s the twist then some people wouldn’t be so surprised. But yeah if it were somwhat like my theory then that would be intriguing. Also, a lot of Mikuni’s actions would be justified. XD

      I just got the new Newtype and saw the [C] spread. I don’t think it’s as prominent as in the anime, but in the official artwork they even go as far as using the same hair and eye color for Mikuni and Kimimaro.

      Reply
      1. Sapphire Pyro

        “Also, a lot of Mikuni’s actions would be justified. XD”
        = Yeah, right now he’s more like Kimimaro’s… “sugar daddy”… bwahahahahahhaha xD *very very amused with it*

        “I just got the new Newtype and saw the [C] spread. I don’t think it’s as prominent as in the anime, but in the official artwork they even go as far as using the same hair and eye color for Mikuni and Kimimaro.”
        = Whooooaaaa! That makes me so curious *_* Hopefully a scan of that gets shared soon~

        Reply
        1. Mira Post author

          Yeah, right now he’s more like Kimimaro’s… “sugar daddy”… bwahahahahahhaha xD *very very amused with it*
          ROFL. Yeah he’s looking like a Sugar Daddy buying Mysu’s stocks like that omg. Who invests on a newbie like that, right? It’s so suspicious lolololol.

          Whooooaaaa! That makes me so curious *_* Hopefully a scan of that gets shared soon~
          I’ll scan it myself if I can. ^-^ But hopefully someone does it before me because I’m slow. Hahaha.

          Reply
      2. Sapphire Pyro

        “Who invests on a newbie like that, right? It’s so suspicious lolololol.”
        = Indeed xD Bwahahahahhahaha xD

        “I’ll scan it myself if I can. ^-^ But hopefully someone does it before me because I’m slow. Hahaha.”
        = Advanced thank you, whether you’ll be able to scan it or not ^^

        Reply
  2. Pingback: Anime Review: C – The Money of Soul and Possibility Control Episode 4 | This Euphoria!

Leave a Reply

