Review – [C]: The Money of Soul and Possibility Control

I sort of swore I wouldn’t blog about any of the summer shows until I wrote my [C] review. Let’s just say it’s my way of saying a proper goodbye, haha. No, really. I’m serious here.

[C]’s world is vividly painted and full of creative ideas. Set in what looks like an alternate dimension, the Financial District is a place  in which people put their futures on the line for monetary gain. These people are called ‘Entrepreneurs’. Equipped with ‘Assets’, the embodiment of an Entrepreneur’s future,  they’re required to participate in a ‘Deal’ where they face off with other Entrepreneurs, in a 666 second battle every week. The main character, Kimimaro Yogo is a plain college student who ends up becoming a an Entrepreneur.

The concept itself is what drew me in, along with Kenji Nakamura in the director’s seat. The show did have a rocky start but gradually improved over time. The show itself focuses on the opposing stances of the main characters and attempts to deliver several messages at once, all relating to different aspects of the real world. This worked like a double edged sword for [C]. While  the numerous ideas presented were a great source of speculation and introspection, at the same it’s easy to get lost as to what [C] is truly trying to achieve. Given it’s 11 episode length, the show ended up biting off more than it could chew and haphazardly jumped into an entertaining but somewhat confusing conclusion.

Animation wise, the quality fluctuates a lot and the frequent use of clunky CG hinders the otherwise rich setting. There are a lot of weird proportions and distorted faces in places. I do admire the dynamic angles incorporated in each shot though. Another thing I loved about the show is the music, but then, this is Taku Iwasaki (Gurren Lagaan, Now and Then, Here and There). I love almost everything he comes up with.

If you’re willing to sit through some awkward looking animation, [C] has the potential to entertain with it’s unique world. As long as you try not to make sense of everything and apply suspension of disbelief accordingly, you should be fine. [C] is a worthwhile show, and while it’s not a classic it has enough things in it to keep you thinking.

Overall Rating: 8.5/10

2 thoughts on “Review – [C]: The Money of Soul and Possibility Control

  1. E Minor

    Ooh, an 8.5. Reading your review reminded me of something — the 666 seconds for each battle. It’s one of the reasons why I think the anime’s message is hapdash. What’s the significance of 666? Are they in hell? Is Masakaki a demon? If 666 doesn’t mean anything, then why include it?

    But hey, I finished the series, right? That’s a lot more than I could say for a lot of anime.

    Reply
    1. Mira Post author

      I’m sure it means something but they eventually gave up on explaining it for a while. Which sucks because I think most of the important things feel like they were glossed over once the writers got bored or felt like they wrote themselves in a corner. I gave it an 8.5 because I personally enjoyed looking deeper into the show and some things made up for it. Still, all the business regarding the FD isn’t fully explained.

      But hey, I finished the series, right? That’s a lot more than I could say for a lot of anime.

      Me too. If I weren’t blogging anime I would’ve probably forgotten to see this and everything else hahaha.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

